Celebrations · Food · Photography · Uncategorized

Canadian Thanksgiving in Wales

Happy Thanksgiving! Today is officially Thanksgiving in Canada and although it’s not traditionally celebrated here in the UK, my Welsh family and friends kindly celebrate it with me each year.

It is such a nice excuse to do some decorating, cook and eat some delicious food, and get together with family and friends. Of coarse it is also a good time to reflect and give thanks for our many blessings.

I thought I would share a few photos from our Thanksgiving festivities.

dsc_0265

I wanted to keep the table quite neutral but love the pops of oranges, yellows and browns.

I made these simple place cards using Kraft card and sprigs of rosemary cut from my husband’s grandfather’s garden.

dsc_0253

I love putting little splashes of ‘autumn’ around the house as well.

Although I didn’t take any photos of the food, the menu included spiced pumpkin soup, turkey, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, corn on the cob, sprouts with balsamic, honey and figs, mash & roasties! Needless to say we were stuffed but still managed apple pie and pecan pie for dessert. The spiced pumpkin soup is amazing, it’s one of my favourite recipes that we get to enjoy once a year at Thanksgiving. I will definitely have to write a post and share it with you all soon.

And to top it all off -spiced apple cider. Yum.

dsc_0322

I hope that you all have had a very happy Thanksgiving or a very happy Monday (depending on where you are)!

fallverse

sign off

2 thoughts on “Canadian Thanksgiving in Wales

  1. We are truly blessed with all the gifts our Father in heaven gives us.
    It was a lovely day and the food was amazing. Happy Thanks Giving to all our family and friends in Canada.

Leave a Reply

