Photography · Travel · Uncategorized

True North, Strong & Free

I haven’t posted anything for ages as I’ve been back home in Canada for the past couple of weeks. We (hubby and I) had an amazing time catching up with family and friends. We rented a cottage for a week in Muskoka and then did some travelling around/visiting the second week we were there.

I was able to take a few pics while we were away and thought I’d share a few. All of the pictures are taken with my Nikon D3100, most of them with a Nikkor 55-200mm lens.

There were a tonne of chipmunks at the cottage that I really enjoyed photographing. They are so used to people they would let you get really close to them and they are quite the characters!

chipper2.jpg curious1.jpg smelltheroses1.jpg chipper1.jpg

The chipmunks weren’t the only wildlife around though, there were loads of birds as well, and I caught these photos of a woodpecker who paid a visit to the bird feeder daily.

wood2.jpg

wood1.jpg

Other than that I took a few randoms from around the place and when I say ‘a few’ I mean a lot, but here are some that I liked…

tackle1.jpg iris1.jpg

relax1.jpg forest1.jpg

dragon1.jpg

After we left the cottage we spent a lot of time with family & friends. We went (with my parents) to a vineyard for some wine tasting on our last day. If you are ever in Ontario (Georgian Bay area) I would highly recommend a visit to Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery. Check out their site here. Their wine is fantastic (I LOVED the Into the Light White) and the Winery is named for a spooky bit of local folklore.

wino3.jpg wino2.jpg

wino1.jpg

We’ve come back to a beautiful sunny (!!!) Wales which is always a bonus. And anyway, the best way to beat the post-holiday-back-to-reality-homesick blues is to get up to something creative! Oh, and drink lots of camomile tea and munch on strawberries and blueberries. So watch this space.

signoff

Leave a Reply

